20120722-182920.jpg

After a thoroughly debauched evening (the type that only rolls around once in a long while, under conditions which are hard to replicate under the best of circumstances — liberal amounts of booze, the right group of people, and a general atmosphere which can only be described as extreme merriment, and a consensus that everyone is there to have a damn good time), I’ve spent most of Sunday in a mellow state of slightly hungover, listening to chinese jazz takes of old favorites (like 我是不是你最疼愛 的人) and happily recapping and rehashing the happenings of last night – the very joyous occasion where J&K got hitched, followed by a hugeass celebration for P’s big birthday. 

I know I say this a lot, but I really love weddings which are about the couple – rather than their 10,000 family friends and then some. I love getting together with their friends and celebrating the fact that two incredible people are lucky enough to have found each other, and pledged to be together for, like, ever. And I love that I’m fortunate enough to be invited to be a part of that very momentous, very magical occasion.

In a day and age when everyone constantly gripes about everything under the sun (and I am as guilty as the next person), it’s wonderful to sit down in celebration with a community of people who love the lucky couple very much. It’s all that optimism and hope for the future, combined with an outpouring of love and good wishes, that makes me extremely fond of weddings like these.

Congrats again J ♥ K ! Thanks for having us, and thank you for making the evening so incredibly amazing.

