It seems I’m on a roll with the surprises these days, last night R and I threw my brother a surprise homecoming party, and last weekend we threw our traveling friend a little surprise birthday brunch. Both times, the surprisee was caught completely unaware, and I thoroughly enjoyed orchestrating it all (which included my bossy attempts to get the cousins and friends to do the Kallang wave in the drive way as my brother drove in – which we got to practice first on a very confused Dawn).

Anyhoos, our traveling is friend is home for a bit and taking a break from his adventures, and his birthday provided the perfect opportunity to catch up with old friends :) I picked Graze at Martin Road (near Robertson) for Nab’s brunch as I love the way they’ve done the place up – all that lovely lovely light, white and wood. It doesn’t get too crowded, there’s a champagne brunch option on Sundays, and the food is decent (though not particularly memorable). The service could do with a bit of improvement – the staff seemed a little confused at times and got our orders mixed up – but they’re generally a friendly bunch and try to make up for it.

On the brunch/lunch menu, I’d recommend the slow roasted pork (above), the field mushrooms on toast with tarragon, the cast iron skillet (basically a big breakfast in a very hot pan), and the pan-seared barramundi. If you like your steak, do not order the steak and eggs, trust me. But otherwise, it’s a lovely place for brunch on the weekends. Reservations are recommended.

Graze
38 Martin Road
+65 6509 1680

