E is for Entertaining. It is also for Easy.

We’re full swing into the holiday season around here (I’m in Vancouver in case you missed the memo, and so full of turkey I may turn into one tomorrow. I thought I made the mother of all birds over Thanksgiving, but I’ve got nothing on my momma, I swear that thing was 16lbs and counting!! P says he now knows where my cooking genes came from) and I’m sure it’s the same at home, just as I’m sure many of you are planning and prepping for a whole line up of holiday hosting. So while I suffer through impossible jetlag and an impossibly full stomach, I thought I’d share some ideas from my stepmom’s entertaining arsenal for those of you (un)fortunate enough to be having folks over.

I find that dressing the table is one of the toughest things to do when entertaining. Dress a salad? Sure, no problem! Dress the turkey? Piece of cake. But dress the table, now that’s tricky – which is why I love this entertaining idea that C uses around the house.

Tall candles + taller jars = impressive visual.

The best part is that the set up is so simple. You can use this as the centerpiece for the dining table, or along the sideboard if you’re setting up buffet-style. These also work well on the floor if you’re doing something outdoors. Just remember to get an assortment of heights for the candles and the vases, otherwise it looks too imposing. So you can get creative with these, and you can get both the vases ($29 for a set of 3) and the candles (varied heights, $2.50-$12.00) at IKEA.

As for the place settings, dress plain old white plates up with colourful napkins (red goes great against white plates ala Martha Stewart). Use a length of christmas holly (or glittery tinsel which can be found at Daiso) as napkin rings, alternatively, get crafty (and kitschy) with these tree shaped rings. And if you can manage it, don’t forget personalized place settings – it’s one of the best ways to make people feel welcome (and to ensure a great party even if folks don’t know each other that well), as you took the time to think about who they would most enjoy being seated next to!

For other entertaining ideas, click on the E is for… tag at the bottom of this post. And if any of you have ideas for entertaining, or tips and tricks that help you get through the holidays, DO SHARE! as sharing is caring and we all know what a crazy time Christmas can be, so we all need all the help we can get :) Happy holidays everyone!

 Christmas

Tell me, what do you  about Christmas?

