And there you have it folks, we’re at the end of another long work week (can I get a round of applause?) and we’re all looking forward to a well-deserved weekend ahead. My social calendar says there are quite a number of exciting things lined up over the next 48 hours or so, among them: TBC turns ONE with a great big birthday bash – the perfect weekend remedy for all you beach lovers, body lovers, and dog lovers (I guarantee there will be plenty there). As for those of you who shun the sun in favour of a little retail therapy, the Club21 Bazaar is bound to have you reaching for the plastic and charging up a storm (I hear they have a fantastic selection for ladies this year).

If you’re not in the mood for rubbing up against the banana boat soaked sun worshippers or fighting elbows with the shoppers, then may I suggest a calm afternoon spent in the chic confines of PS Palais Renaissance? It comes complete with hot coffee, delicious food, people to watch and great ambiance. You’ll have to bring your own good company though

Worth the calories (if you count them) Truffle fries | Breakfast stack | Chocolate crunch doorstop | Blood orange mimosa & Burnt peach cooler

I must admit, I have a bit of a love-hate relationship with this super-chic joint. As with all uber popular places in Singapore, I hate that it’s always packed, as with many proper dining establishments in Singapore, the food is a tad overpriced.

That being said, Philip and his partners have got the formula down pat for creating very unique and incredibly beautiful dining spaces, full of white and natural light, gorgeous flooring, handsome furniture (marble and wood is a look I love), all in a very charming and lush setting. That I love and am fully willing to pay a pretty penny for. As for the food, while it’s nothing extraordinary, it is consistent and it is good cafe food.

On an entirely unrelated note, if you’re into menswear may I also suggest you pick up the latest edition of The Rake? Wei’s done such a fantastic job with the publication that I just had to subscribe to it for P (and by extension, me). If you’re looking for a little just because gift for your main man (or your brother, or your father, or your best friend), I highly recommend a subscription to it. Otherwise you’ll find it at all good bookshops.

In the meantime, have a happy weekend friends!

PS Cafe, Palais Renaissance, 390 Orchard Road

