By Cindy

Where I Go: New York City

My present physical state of limited mobility has left me hankering for Summer in one of my most favourite city’s in the world – New York, New York.

I want Summer in NYC and I want it NOW. I long for a particular stretch of 5th Ave between the legendary Museum Mile, a tree lined walk down the side of Central Park, all the way The Plaza Hotel at 5th and 58th, ending at a particular spot, home to one of the world’s foremost temples of luxury: Bergdorf Goodman.

I want to peruse the museums from the Guggenheim, to MOMA to the highly anticipated exhibition at the MMA featuring Alexander Mcqueen: Savage Beauty, which apparently is so remarkable, it’s likely to appeal far beyond the ranks of the designer’s devotees. Other lesser-known, but equally awesome and impressive museums which I have come to appreciate include The American Folk Art Museum and The Cloisters Museum and Gardens.

Wearing: I want to wear open-toed sandals (from Giuseppe Zanotti, my stable footwear for Summer) to show off my perfect pedicure (courtesy of The Nail Room).

I want to wear light floaty silk ensembles from Celine (long flowy pants with deep hems, tunics, popover tops) that billow in the gentle breeze, without fear of having it ruined by the driving rain.

I want to wear my vintage DITA sunglasses to protect my eyes from the glare, rather than to protect attitude.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Reading: I want to get my hands on a book by Haruki Murakami at WORD in Brooklyn, one of the best and most well-curated bookstores I have ever visited. The beauty lies in the fact that you won’t find too much in the way of best-sellers, but rather immensely interesting mid and small-press pieces. Make a special effort to attend one of the many readings Word hosts. I promise you it is worth the trip across the bridge.

In my incapacitated state, I have also endeared myself to a vessel, a tool, a 1.5-pound sack of potential called the ipad. I now will never leave home without it.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Watching: I want to spread out a picnic on the lawn of Bryant Park and watch classic films in the open air with my nieces, Emma and Alexis (emmallybeans). The films begin at dusk, but the lawn opens at 5pm for blankets and picnicking.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Eating: I want to lunch alfresco, a deux with my husband at Morandi. Whilst it may not have made a huge impression on the finicky New York food world, it is nonetheless a fun scene with good quality wholesome cuisine. Plus, they have McNally’s signature carafes of wine, perfect for whiling a way a late Sunday afternoon. Must try dishes, their amazing mouth-watering fried artichokes!

The ivy-lined walls at Trestle on Tenth make for a pretty backdrop for beautifully executed American food, especially after checking out Chelsea’s art scene on a Thursday evening. Remember to book a table in the back garden for an excellent post-gallery dining spot.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Toting: I want to be able to throw my crutches away and carry my Kelly Relax. I love the move away from overly constructed bags and the reissued Kelly with its “Relax” style, reflecting the nature of its buttery soft leather. My big tote-size bag is brilliantly slouchier than my other bags, allowing me to throw any and everything I need whilst traversing the city!

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Loving: I want to revisit my childhood every time I enter FAO Schwarz. This larger than life toy bazaar offers an incomparable experience for both children and adults, making it a much-loved place for emmallybeans and myself. From stuffed animals and collectibles to games to sporting equipment (they even offer Vespa scooters!) and to its old fashioned ice cream parlour setting, FAO Schwarz has something for everyone!

I want to relive that tingling sensation I get whenever I push open the front doors of Bergdorf Goodman. It’s not necessarily what I buy there that enthralls me, so much as their power to enchant and delight. I have now come to believe that while there are many gorgeous department stores throughout the world, no one does retail magic quite like BG.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Odds & ends: I want to window shop at some of my preferred antique shops and galleries in NYC and indulge in a utopia of unexplored sights and sounds. Nowhere will you find a more eclectic collection than at Liza Sherman, Craig Van Den Brulee, Todd Merrill, Ralph Pucci, Lobel Modern and Gagosian Gallery, NYC.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

Where I Sleep: I want to fall sleep on the cotton-loaded (rather than the synthetic stuffing) mattress at The Four Seasons NYC.

Truly, no one does old-school glamour like the Isadore Sharp’s Four Seasons. Whether you stay the night or pop in for afternoon tea, pre-dinner drinks or a night cap, it would be difficult to find a more refined, elegant and unobtrusive setting than this finely appointed hotel on 52nd East 52nd Street.

I want Summer and I want it now! Is that too much to ask for?

