Yes, you heard me right. BACON-bourbon-maplesyrup-old-fashioned. Courtesy of NYMag. This concoction is literally all of my brother’s favourite things thrown together, shaken to perfection and served on the rocks (or if you’re a true connoisseur, over a single large round rock) 

As you can see, it’s not rocket science – and a jar of this keeps nicely in the fridge in an airtight container for a couple of weeks (we made a first batch 3 weeks ago and it’s still good), ready to go whenever you happen to have my brother over for drinks. As for Grade B maple syrup? Well I’m not too sure what that means since it’s an American classification and all the maple syrup in my fridge is of Canadian (and therefore, superior) origin. But I suppose the general rule is the darker the syrup, the sharper the taste of maple, which is what you want for your old fashioned.

What you end up with is an amazing concoction with notes of smokey bacon wonderfully balanced by the maple syrup in a beverage that’s known for its smokey notes to begin with. It’s like breakfast in a glass, but better!

*While this recipe simply says to strain, I would use a coffee filter instead of a strainer to make sure you get as much of the bacon fat out. You can also up the bacon count for a more obvious bacony flavour.

