I love planners, don’t you? And notebooks and diaries and all those other paper products you tend to receive at the beginning of each calendar year – mostly from folks who don’t know you too well and are therefore at a loss over what to give you (Nonetheless, keep it up people! They make great gifts) I love getting them as presents though I never use them the way they’re supposed to be used – part way through the year I end up falling back on my ever reliable blackberry to keep my life in check – but I do very much enjoy the process of opening up a new planner and well, making plans for the year ahead.

The forecast is usually very (some would say, overly) optimistic. All the birthdays, occasions/events, parties, public holidays and potential vacations are immediately outlined (in precisely that order) and colour-coded on clean, cream, neatly-lined sheets (I abhor stark white paper, it’s blinding). Nevermind that you haven’t penciled in work commitments, nor have you applied for leave. Like I said, it’s an optimistic outlook, plus it’s a great way to stay positive when the back-to-work blues hit you like a ton of bricks.

For me, this whole process just gets me to the part which I most enjoy – planning! And with planning comes a collation of a whole host of inspiration and ideas which I thought I would share here. These delightful ideas are courtesy of the very talented, incredibly incredible people behind Sunday Suppers – an inspiring blog by two very beautiful, extremely gifted women, about cooking and hosting and pairing friends and food. 

These two ladies, they cook and they eat and they entertain for a living, and then they capture it all in beautiful images for our reading pleasure! They bring in guest chefs for each installment, and they work with local vendors whose work they admire to provide the printables or the tableware. It’s brilliant! They’ve essentially got my dream job :)

So here are some of the things Sunday Suppers has created that I hope to be able to do this year: 

Standard lemonade can get a little stale, Sunday Suppers spruces it up with the addition of Lavender! Pretty and perfect for a Ladies Lunch
{link}

Make a special Valentine’s Day breakfast
{link}

Get creative with table settings to create something as beautiful as this for my birthday
{link}

Throw a garden party! Perhaps over Easter and we can have a grown up easter egg hunt :)
{link}

Design and print menus for all our dinner parties! (First I need to find a working printer)
{link}

Make this roast beef sandwich (with egg, red onion, aioli & capers) for a Canada Day bbq
{link}

Create a signature welcome drink, Sunday Suppers has a delightful rose-mint combination
{link}

Actually attempt to wrap my Christmas gifts properly, with all the requisite trimmings
{link}

All the images and ideas are courtesy of Sunday Suppers (http://sunday-suppers.com/)
Do check them out for a whole host of ideas and scrumptious recipes for entertaining at home this new year.

Do what you love, love what you do.

